Good Relationships, Good Life.

Welcome to my first blog ever!

The purpose of this blog is 2-fold:

  • To build relationships with my family and friends through shared experiences and reflection
  • To share information on social relationship building activities that I engage in

I recently came across the results of a 75 year Harvard study on happiness. Below is a 13 minute long video on the study and here’s some more information on the study if you’re interested. To sum it up, the secret to a happy life is not wealth or achievements, but good relationships with family and friends. It’s been proven. Happiness is a choice!

In the last year and a half, I have been incredibly busy with buying a house, starting a new job, and finishing business school, etc. It has been tough to balance work and social life. (And by balance, I mean focusing mostly on work-work, school-work, and house-work. Social life? What’s that again?) Nonetheless, I chose to do all of the above things and I couldn’t be more appreciative of how things have turned out. Now it’s time to focus on what’s most important, reconnecting with important people in my life, because my accomplishments couldn’t have happened without their support.

But what does this have to do with all of you?

Every week, I will post a blog featuring a friend or family member (yes, you! Who me? It couldn’t be. Then who? Well, why don’t you share this post and we’ll see! #WhoStoleTheCookiesFromTheCookieJar #InsertSmileOrLaughterHere) and share the activities that we engage in.

If you are reading this blog, most likely, we are connected somehow- close friend and family, acquaintance, or friend of a friend.

  • If possible, let’s hang out! Fill out the form below and let me know when you are available to hang out and what you would like to do. (Must be willing to share a bit of info on yourself and our shared experiences). I have classes Friday nights and Saturdays until 3 PM. Other than work-work, school-work, and house-work, I can commit to engaging in a 3-5 hour activity per week. My interests include: cooking, arts & crafts, make-up, wedding planning, sewing, dancing, hiking, and camping.

  • If distance and time do not allow, hopefully you can find some tips from my activities useful and use them to connect and build relationships with your friends and family.
  • If neither of the above, hopefully my blog will at least help entertain you for a short period of time to take your mind off of the craziness of the world.

This blog is a work in progress and I am very interested in getting feedback from all to determine how to make this blog more engaging. Most importantly, please share share share!

Until Next Week,

❤ Hong

Robert Waldinger:“What Makes a Good life? Lessons from the Longest Study on Happiness”

 

3 thoughts on “Good Relationships, Good Life.

  1. Love it Hong!!! Looking forward to reading your blog. Feel free to write about your recent visit to SB and our day long hike 😊. Looking forward to hanging out with you & Jesse. We love having you both over & hiking, playing board games, and of course stuffing our faces with yummy food 😋. Hope to see you both very soon.

    Like

  2. Thanks Deise! I will definitely write about the hike within the next few weeks! I look forward to hanging out with you guys too! (and our next day-long hike of course! It’s a tradition now. haha…) ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

